Gluten Free Peach Pie Crumble

finished peach pie crumble

Peach Pie Crumble

I love summer time for so many reasons. One being all the fruits and vegetables that come to the farmers markets.  I just moved and my sweet neighbor offered to bring me back some peaches from an orchard she has gone to for over thirty years.  She said it is hard to find Alberta peaches so she drives an hour to get them when they call her.  They sure are delicious!

peaches

Alberta Peaches

I’ve been experimenting with different gluten-free flours lately and happen to have all the ingredients for a pie crust.  I mixed two recipes I found. peach crostata and gluten free pie crust.  I made sure to have all my ingredients cold by freezing the butter, putting the bowl in the refrigerator, and used ice water.  I used 3/4 stick of butter, 1/2 tsp salt, 2 Tablespoons sugar, 4 Tablespoons water, and the flour mixture recommended in the gluten free pie crust recipe.

I did the math and there are 235 g carbohydrates in the pie crust. But if you have about 8 slices in a pie that comes out to 29.4 g carbohydrates in the crust.

I didn’t do the math for the filling because I didn’t weight the peaches before I put them in the pie.  But I used about 4 peaches.

I was very pleased with the way the crust and the pie/crumble came out.  I had never made a gluten-free pie crust before and wasn’t sure about how it was going to turn out compared to wheat flour crust.  It turned out nice and flaky!

I was going to make the crostata recipe but because I was having difficulty with forming the crust and keeping it together, pie seemed like the best option.  I even had enough of the dough to make the shape of the peach I put on top for presentation.  I think the Pie/Crumble is the best between both pie and cobbler.peach pie crumble collage

peach pie anglepeach pie with peach uncooked uncooked peach pie

Gluten Free Peach Pie Crumble
Pie Crust:
1 1/4 cup gluten free flour (I used the mixture from the pie crust link above)
plus more flour for rolling it 
3/4 stick of butter cut into chunks and put in the freezer for 30 min
1/2 tsp salt
2 Tablespoons sugar
3-4 Tablespoons ice cold water (enough to make sure it it sticking together)

Mix all the dry ingredients together.  Then with a mixer using the paddle, 
add the butter and slowly add the water as it mixes.  Mix for about 3 mins.  
Once it is done wrap it in plastic and put it in the refrigerator (1 hour at least).
Once it has been refrigerated, roll between two pieces of parchment paper.  
It might fall apart but keeping working at it. It pushes together easily. 

Egg wash:
1 egg 
1 Tablespoon cold water
Brush on top of the crust and any pie crust that is visible after the filling has been added.

Filling:
4 Peaches diced
2 Tablespoons sugar
1 1/2-2 Teaspoons pumpkin pie spice

Mix together

Crumble:
1/4 cup gluten free flour
1/4 cup oats (gluten free)
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/3 stick butter

Mix together with your hands to break up the butter.  
Mix till there are pea size or a little larger butter balls! Sprinkle on top of the filling.

Bake for 1- 1:15 hours 350ºF  
The crust should have a nice golden color.
Leave a Reply

