Parmesan and Flax Baked Zucchini

A Southern staple is fried zucchini.  The thought of them right out of the pan brings back memories of my grandmother Hawkes.  She knew how to do “Southern cooking” justice.  We would pick the zucchini right out of the garden and she would make them for dinner.  Man they were delicious but not the best option if you are trying to cook on the lighter side.  When you think of southern cooking you don’t think of it as good for your health and since I ate most if not all of my Oatmeal Banana Nut Muffins, I need to make a healthier version.

I tried three different types to see which one would come close to my grandmothers.

1. No oil just coated in flour, pepper, parmesan cheese, and flax meal.

Flax and Parmesan Dusted

Coated them for option 1 and 2

2. Lightly coasted with olive oil then tossed with the above mixture

3. Sprayed with oil and dusted with flax meal and topped with parmesan cheese

Each option was baked at 375°F for 15-20 mins or until the tops started to turn golden brown.  It depends how thin you cut the zucchini on how fast they will be done.    The thinner the cut the crisper they will turn out similar to “chips.” If they are a little bit thicker they will retain their moisture and be similar to fried zucchini. I found out that a “little bit” of pepper goes a long way because all of them had a kick.

Correct thickness

You might want to know which one was the best….It is hard to choose but #2 and #3 were my favorites.  The oil gives them the similarity of fried zucchini. Nothing can compare to my grandmother’s cooking but this came close!  She didn’t use parmesan cheese but it adds a bit of extra flavor I think. I hope you like them as much as I did.

From my kitchen to yours!

Option 1

Option 2

Option 3

Leave a Reply

